Kundenbericht

How AI is changing drug discovery

Millionen

Datenpunkte, die aus Tausenden Quellen verarbeitet wurden

INDUSTRY: Life sciences

SOLUTION: Recommendation engines

PLATFORM USE CASE: Delta Lake, data science, machine learning, ETL

CLOUD: AWS, Azure

Hintergrundbild

“By moving to Databricks, we have seen an order of magnitude improvement in performance.”

— Eliseo Papa, Computational Biologist, AstraZeneca

AstraZeneca erforscht, entwickelt und vermarktet bahnbrechende Medikamente gegen einige der schwerwiegendsten Krankheiten der Welt. Das größte Hindernis für neue Innovationen ist die Unfähigkeit, alle verfügbaren wissenschaftlichen Informationen schneller zu nutzen als die Geschwindigkeit, mit der neue Daten eintreffen. Das Unternehmen brauchte eine Plattform, die es ihm ermöglichte, skalierbare, leistungsstarke Datenpipelines zu erstellen, die in Machine-Learning-Modelle einfließen und so Wissenschaftlern bei gezielten Entscheidungen helfen. Dank Databricks kann AstraZeneca mithilfe von Big Data und Machine Learning eine Empfehlungs-Engine aufbauen, die es Wissenschaftlern einfacher macht, neuartige Medikamente schneller, kostengünstiger und effektiver bereitzustellen.

Zu viele Daten bremsen die Entscheidungsfindung aus

Es ist allgemein bekannt, dass die Erforschung, Entwicklung und Vermarktung neuer Arzneimittelklassen 10 bis 15 Jahre dauern kann und mehr als 5 Milliarden US-Dollar an Forschungs- und Entwicklungsinvestitionen getätigt werden, wobei letztendlich weniger als 5 % der Medikamente auf den Markt kommen. AstraZeneca hat erkannt, dass dieses Innovationstempo nicht ausreicht, und ist zu einem datengesteuerten Ansatz übergegangen, um die Erfolgsquote bei der Erforschung von Medikamenten zu erhöhen und die klinischen Studien sicherer zu verwalten.

Die Wissenschaftler von AstraZeneca waren jedoch immer noch nicht in der Lage, schnell fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen, obwohl ihnen alle verfügbaren wissenschaftlichen Informationen zur Verfügung standen. Sie hatten Probleme mit Daten, die sich in unzusammenhängenden Quellen sowohl innerhalb des Unternehmens als auch in externen öffentlichen Datenbanken befanden. Da neue wissenschaftliche Forschungsergebnisse weiterhin in rasantem Tempo veröffentlicht werden, wurde es außerdem praktisch unmöglich, über das Tempo der wissenschaftlichen Entdeckungen auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben.

  • Komplexität der Infrastruktur: Ermitteln der Infrastruktur, die Flexibilität ermöglicht, aber keine ständige Wartung erfordert
  • Riesige Mengen unzusammenhängender Daten: Aufgabe der Erfassung und Analyse von Millionen von Datenpunkten in Hunderten von Datenquellen, einschließlich interner Datenquellen und öffentlicher Quellen wie Fachliteratur, öffentlicher Datenbanken usw.
  • Schwierigkeiten bei der Skalierung von Vorgängen zur Unterstützung von Data Science mit Open-Source-Python-Notebooks

Schnellere Datenpipelines beschleunigen ML-Innovationen

AstraZeneca leverages the Databricks Lakehouse Platform to help build a knowledge graph of biological insights and facts. The graph powers a recommendation system which enables any AstraZeneca scientist to generate novel target hypotheses, for any disease, leveraging all of the data available to them.

  • Fully managed platform: Simplified cluster management and maintenance of analytic resources at scale.
  • Aufbau von skalierbaren, leistungsstarken Datenpipelines: diese können NLP in einer riesigen Bibliothek wissenschaftlicher Literatur und Datenquellen für nachgelagerte Analysen nutzen
  • Beschleunigung von Innovationen im Bereich Machine Learning: Data Scientists können Modelle entwickeln und trainieren, die Rankingvorhersagen liefern und ihnen helfen, intelligentere Entscheidungen zu treffen

Transformation der Erforschung von Medikamenten mit KI

Seit der Umstellung auf Databricks ist AstraZeneca in der Lage, Millionen Datenpunkte aus Tausenden von Quellen einfacher zu verarbeiten. Dank der nun möglichen Skalierung konnte AstraZeneca verlässlicher aussagekräftige Erkenntnisse gewinnen. Mit diesen können möglicherweise neuartige Medikamente entwickelt werden, die Menschen dabei helfen, ein gesünderes Leben zu führen.

  • Verbesserte betriebliche Effizienz: Funktionen wie Clusterverwaltung und automatische Skalierung von Clustern haben Betriebsabläufe von der Datenaufnahme bis zur Verwaltung des gesamten Lebenszyklus des Machine Learnings verbessert.
  • Bessere Produktivität in der Datenwissenschaft: Die gemeinsame Notebook-Umgebung mit Unterstützung für mehrere Sprachen hat die Teamproduktivität verbessert.
  • Schnellere Einblicke: Die von Databricks unterstützte Empfehlungs-Engine hat die Fähigkeit von AstraZeneca verbessert, fundiertere Hypothesen aufzustellen, wodurch die Markteinführungszeit für neuartige Medikamente verkürzt werden konnte.

customer story
How AI is changing drug discovery

AstraZeneca leverages data and NLP to help scientists research novel drugs

INDUSTRY: Life sciences

SOLUTION: Recommendation engine

TECHNICAL USE CASE: Data ingest and ETL, machine learning, deep learning

AstraZeneca discovers, develops, and commercializes groundbreaking drugs for some of the world’s most serious diseases. The biggest obstacle to new innovations is the inability to tap into all of the scientific information available to them faster than the pace of new data coming in. They needed a platform that enabled them to build scalable, performant data pipelines that feed machine learning models designed to help their scientists make targeted decisions. With Databricks, they are able to leverage data and machine learning to build a recommendation engine that empowers scientists to more easily uncover new novel drugs quicker, cheaper and more effectively.

Too much data slows decision making

It is widely known that the discovery, development, and commercialization of new classes of drugs can take 10-15 years and greater than $5 billion in R&D investment only to see less than 5% of the drugs make it to market. Understanding that this pace of innovation is not sufficient, AstraZeneca moved to a data-driven approach in order to increase their success rate for drug discovery and safer management of clinical trials.

However, their scientists were still unable to quickly make informed decisions with all of the available scientific information at their fingertips. They struggled with data residing in disjointed sources both within the company as well as external public databases. Furthermore, as new scientific research continues to be released at a rapid pace, it became virtually impossible to keep up-to-date with the pace of scientific discovery.

  • Infrastructure complexity: Finding the infrastructure that allowed for flexibility but didn’t require constant maintenance.
  • Massive volumes of disjointed data: Tasked with ingesting, parsing, and analyzing millions of data points across 100s of data sources including internal data sources and public sources including technical literature, public databases, etc.
  • Struggled to scale operations to support data science efforts with open source Python notebooks.

Faster data pipelines fuel ML innovation

AstraZeneca leverages Databricks Unified Data Analytics Platform on Azure to help build a knowledge graph of biological insights and facts. The graph powers a recommendation system which enables any AstraZeneca scientist to generate novel target hypotheses, for any disease, leveraging all of the data available to them.

  • Fully managed platform: Simplified cluster management and maintenance of analytic resources at scale on Azure.
  • Built scale, performant data pipelines: Able to leverage NLP across a huge library of scientific literature and data sources for downstream analysis.
  • Accelerating machine learning innovation: Data scientists are empowered to build and train models that provide ranking predictions that will help them make smarter decisions.

Transforming how drugs are discovered with AI

Since moving to Databricks, AstraZeneca is now able to more easily process millions of data points from thousands of sources. Removing the barriers of scale has allowed them to more reliably extract meaningful insights that can result in novel drugs designed to help people live healthier lives.

  • Improved operational efficiency: Features such as cluster management and auto-scaling of clusters has improved operations from data ingest to managing the entire machine learning lifecycle.
  • Better data science productivity: Shared notebook environment with support for multiple languages has improved team productivity.
  • Faster time-to-insight: The recommendation engine powered by Databricks has improved their ability to make more informed hypotheses, allowing them to accelerate time-to-market for novel drugs and medicines.
  • Millions
    Of data points processed from thousands of sources

By moving to Databricks, we have seen an order of magnitude improvement in performance.”

– Eliseo Papa, Computational Biologist, AstraZeneca

Related Content


Technical Talk at Spark + AI Summit EU 2019